Project Summary

THREE C aims at the development and introduction of economically viable value chains based on charcoal raw materials from waste biomass in NWE.
The project is based on the predecessor project RE-DIRECT, which has shown that it is possible and sustainable to use charcoal as an alternative raw material for products in the agricultural, waste water, health and cosmetics industries.
The project will promote the development of high quality products and value chains based on charcoal raw materials in the participating regions in DE, BE, UK, IE, FR and NL in order to introduce a climate-friendly and sustainable Circular Carbon Economy in NWE.
The project is led by an interdisciplinary project team of universities, public institutions, business support and regional development agencies and experts in capacity building, investment and marketing.
During the project period:
- 7 regional Circular Carbon Hubs (CC-Hubs) will be established for product and business development and marketing,
- Circular Carbon-Labs (CC-Labs) will develop quality control mechanisms for tailor-made products and raw materials,
- 1 European umbrella organisation (CC-Net) provides business support, continuous vocational training and advice for SMEs in the new sector.
3 Investments for a mobile demonstration plant, a central prototype quality laboratory and a CC hub in a remote rural area will be realised.
A total of 250 stakeholders working in product and service development in the new sector will be supported over the duration of the project, including professionals from at least 14 start-ups and 70 SMEs. 21 product lines and value chains will be developed in all regions and sectors. Europe-wide marketing and supply will be promoted via the CC net and its European marketing platform for charcoal products.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
Universität Kassel 19 Mönchebergstrasse
Kassel
34125
Germany
mwach@uni-kassel.de www.uni-kassel.de
Name Contact Name Email Country
Eigenbetrieb Umwelttechnik der Stadt Baden-Baden Olaf Herrmann umwelttechnik@baden-baden.de Germany
Trendhuis Nathalie Bekx nathalie.bekx@trendhuis.be Belgium
blended learning institutions' cooperative, blinc eG Tim Scholze tscholze@blinc-eu.org Germany
Asiantaeth Ynni Severn Wye Energy Agency Rachel Smith rachels@severnwye.org.uk United Kingdom
Cwm Harry Land Trust Colin Keyse colink@cwmharry.org.uk United Kingdom
Aberystwyth University Luned Roberts lur@aber.ac.uk United Kingdom
Association d’Initiatives Locales pour l’Energie et l’Environnement Marc Le Treis marc.le-treis@aile.asso.fr France
UniLaSalle Abdoulaye Kane abdoulaye.kane@unilasalle.fr France
Irish Bioenergy Association Seán Finan seanfinan@irbea.org Ireland
Bretagne Eco-Entreprises Loïc Evain contact@b2e.bzh France
Pro Natura Tom Anthonis tom.anthonis@pronatura.be Belgium
Gemeente Apeldoorn Adriaan Hellemans a.hellemans@apeldoorn.nl Netherlands

News


THREE C project inaugurated

Posted on

The THREE C consortium met on 22.01.2020 in the premises of the Belgian partner Trendhuis. The aim was to get to know to each other and to the project in more detail. Some of the partners have worked together previously in the RE-DIRECT project, whereas others joined the project team for THREE C. Read More


Share this

Tweet Share