Project Summary

As the NWE is increasingly investing in distributed renewable energies (e.g. roof-mounted solar PV), the need for medium capacity energy storage solutions becomes apparent, with a market potential reaching €250bn by 2025.  Heavily subsidized batteries from the US and Asia outpace EU suppliers through price-competition, and currently supply 80% of the storage market in NWE. Many of these mass-produced solutions are not tailored to the needs of local market segments including, e.g. housing providers, energy cooperatives and business parks. These use cases could benefit from tailored storage technologies, new technologies or adapted business models (e.g.Storage-as-a-Service).
Innovative NWE storage products are currently stuck at TRL5/6 and face significant barriers, ranging from fragmented regulations & funding sources, limited testing abilities and unawareness of final consumers.
In STEPS, business support and knowledge partners from IE, NL, BE, FR and UK will strengthen the competitiveness of NWE innovative storage providers by using a user-centric, demand-driven approach to bring products closer to market through tailored testing. Specific activities include:
1)Advising >200 e-storage local SMEs on entering new markets in NWE
2) Create market pull effects in NWE for new e-storage solutions by engaging with potential end-users needs and increase awareness of solution providers
3) Implementing a Support Programm that connects end-users with 20 providers of new e-storage solutions to increase their technological readiness level (TRL5/6 to 7) through real-life testing.
More than 50 future end-user of storage will be trained on using a new tool to model their e-storage need with direct links to a portfolio of 250-300 solution providers from NWE. On the long-term, this will position NWE as a leading storage player, gaining up to the 30% of the market with more than 120 new e-storage solutions commercialised and leading to the generation of >1100 new jobs.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij Oost-Nederland NV 1026 P.O. Box
Apeldoorn
NL-7301BG
Netherlands
wieteke.meijer@oostnl.nl www.oostnl.nl
Name Contact Name Email Country
Flux50 Frederik Loeckx Frederik.loeckx@flux50.com Belgium
National University of Ireland Galway Niall Ó Brolcháin niall.obrolchain@insight-centre.org Ireland
Provinciale ontwikkelingsmaatschappij Oost-Vlaanderen Gieles Kinget gieles.kinget@pomov.be Belgium
Universiteit Twente Braham Ferreira j.a.ferreira@utwente.nl Netherlands
Universiteit Gent Jan Desmet JanJ.Desmet@UGent.be Belgium
House of Energy e.V. Christian Engers c.engers@house-of-energy.org Germany
3 Counties Energy Agency (3cea) Paddy Phelan pphelan@3cea.ie Ireland
Cambridge Cleantech Sam Goodall sam.goodall@cambridgecleantech.org.uk United Kingdom
The Faraday Institution Ian Ellerington ian.ellerington@faraday.ac.uk United Kingdom
Galway Energy Co-operative Vincent Carragher vincentcarragher@gmail.com Ireland

Share this

Tweet Share