Smart Track 4 Waterway


Project Summary

ST4W proposes a management solution for shipment by inland waterway transport, providing to small stakeholders a simpler and cheaper access to secure data, and enabling them to share a hierarchical track & trace service of shipment at logistics unit level : what pallet in what vessel ?

ST4W solution will provide an end to end seamless visibility to supply chain stakeholders :

  • Automatic update of logistics unit status (pallet, container …)
  • Real-time update of ETA (Estimated Time of Arrival) of each logistics unit, throughout the multimodal supply chain
  • Automatic alert in the case of delay or loading the wrong logistics unit
  • Electronic proof of delivery at each step:

This cloud-oriented platform is based on GS1 standards, where everyone is master of his own data and shares it only with chosen partners

A sustainable and closer cooperation between waterway actors and their supply chain partners will enable more clients to make use of waterway transportation (from mental shift to modal shift), and consequently to reduce CO2 emissions of their logistics operations.

 

Main advantages of Inland Waterway Transportation (IWT):

IWT predominantly used by large companies for bulk & big volumes:

  • Used to a small extend by SMEs
  • Used to a very small extend for palletized freight

 

Palletized freight is generally carried in small volumes directly from point A to point B

 

Modal shift from road to waterway needs:

  • additional transhipment operations
  • bundling of several small volumes
  • more complex logistics engineering
  • more administrative burden

ST4W proposes an unified data exchange platform …

  •  fed with hierarchical tracking data at logistics unit level (pallet, container)
  • proposing transversal services:
    • real time update of cargo Estimated Time of Arrival
    • electronic proof of delivery

... tackling modal shift brakes

  •  seamless synchronisation between logistics and IWT actors
  •  end-to-end follow-up of shipment:
    • in multimodal environment
    • with reduced administrative burden

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
Multitel 2 Rue Pierre et Marie Curie
Mons
7000
Belgium
deketelaere@multitel.be www.multitel.be
Name Contact Name Email Country
Circoe Claire Bouvier c.bouvier@circoe.com France
Logistics in Wallonia Bernard Piette bpi@logisticsinwallonia.be Belgium
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven Tom Van Woensel t.v.woensel@tue.nl Netherlands
Stichting Bureau Telematica Binnenvaart Henk van Laar henkvanlaar@binnenvaart.org Netherlands
Institut du droit international des transports Ludovic Couturier lcouturier@idit.asso.fr France
Stichting Projecten Binnenvaart Khalid Tachi k.tachi@eicb.nl Netherlands
Port Autonome du Centre et de l'Ouest Christophe Vanmuysen christophe.vanmuysen@spw.wallonie.be Belgium
Port de Bruxelles - Haven van Brussel Désirée Simonetti dsimonetti@port.brussels Belgium
Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE) Bernd Noche bernd.noche@uni-due.de Germany
Blue Line Logistics nv Ferenc Szilagyi ferenc.szilagyi@bluelinelogistics.eu Belgium
Inlecom System Ltd Yash Chadha yash@inlecom.com United Kingdom
Sogestran Gilles Peyrot gilles.peyrot@sogestran.com France
EVOL LILLE Bertrand LEROY bertrand.leroy@urby.fr France
IT-Optics Lorenzo Bassani lbassani@it-optics.com Belgium
SHIPIT MULTIMODAL LOGISTICS Jan D’Haeyer jan.dhaeyer@shipit.be Belgium
Promotion of Operational Links with Integrated Services Ivo Cré icre@polisnetwork.eu Belgium
Paris Terminal Alain O’JEANSON alain.ojeanson@paris-terminal.com France
Urban Waterway Logistics Peter Geirnaert Peter.geirnaert@hotmail.com Belgium
Stichting Dunamare Onderwijsgroep J.J. Boll j.boll@maritiemeacademie.nl Netherlands
Bockaert en Thienpont Pieter Bockaert Pieter.bockaert@botha.be Belgium
Chambre de commerce et d’industrie de Région Hauts-de-France Ksenija Banovac kbanovac@portsdelille.com France
Haropa Christophe Du Chatelier christophe.duchatelier@PARIS-PORTS.FR France

News



Events


Urban Logistics Solutions- Innovation event, Duisburg, Germany

, University of Duisburg-Essen in Duisburg, Germany

The Chair of Transport Systems and Logistics (TuL) at the University of Duisburg-Essen and the Center for Logistics and Transport (ZLV) will hold an innovation event on the topic of "Urban Logistics Solutions" on 12.09.2022 from 10:00 to 14:30. If you are interested in attending the event, please contact Ms. Elham Naderipour (email: elham.naderipour@uni-due.de).
Read More

Urban Logistics Solutions event in Duisburg, Germany

, Mercator-Haus on the campus of the University of Duisburg-Essen, Duisburg, Germany

The Chair of Transport Systems and Logistics (TuL) at the University of Duisburg-Essen and the Center for Logistics and Transport (ZLV) will hold an innovation event on the topic of "Urban Logistics Solutions" on 12.09.2022 from 10:00 to 14:30 (arrival at 9:30). The event will take place in presence at the Mercator-Haus on the campus of the University of Duisburg-Essen in Duisburg, Germany
Read More

Multimodal Urban Day - Bruxelles, Belgium, Thursday 28th October 2021

, Brussels Construction Consolidation Center/Shipit Multimodal Logistics, Avenue du Port 67, 1000 Brussels

Come and discover urban multimodality in action! Our program for the afternoon includes: - Discussion of the operational links with integrated services with POLIS - Presentation of an innovative urban delivery solution 'from barge to bike' with Urbike - Site visit and presentation of the Brussels Construction Consolidation Centre For further details please contact dsimonetti@port.brussels
Read More


Test-beds


Paris Test-bed

Posted on

On 8 & 9 August, a multimodal trip was organised to deliver wooden building materials into the heart of Paris, to the construction site of "Wood Up Tower". The wood was supplied by the manufacturer Poulingue and transported using the Zulu vessel and FlexiMalle container. Read More

Brussels Test-bed

Posted on

On 8 June, the Maasdam, a Shipit vessel, arrived at the BCCC North (Brussels Construction Consolidation Center) in the Port of Brussels to be unloaded. Part of the cargo was transferred into a smaller vessel and delivered to the BCCC South, Bistebroeck Quay in Anderlecht. Read More


Share this

Tweet Share