Project Summary

Issue: Although the Construction Industry needs to make a shift in material use, reliable alternative solutions for improving material efficiency and natural resource use are lacking for clients in infrastructure. Dutch municipalities maintain over 12,000 foot-/cyclist bridges. 41% are in a poor to very bad shape. Germany [2018 Brücken Statistik] shows similar figures. Within the NWE territory 0,5 % replacement/year of just these bridges, equals to 95.000 Tons /Yr. of primary raw material use. The EU's action plan Bio-Economy Strategy [EC. 2018] stresses the need for a shift towards natural materials. Despite an increasing market demand, construction industry remains hesitant to implement new natural material applications, because their material properties, especially time-related degradation properties, are insufficiently known to fully guarantee safe use, for a sufficiently long time.

Change: Modern sensor technology combined with smart computer algorithms, make it feasible to equip structural components with sensors and follow their behaviour. This is known as Structural Health Monitoring. Material behaviour is evaluated in real time. A Smart sensor system, evaluates sensor input and generates early warnings, before critical levels of material degradation are reached. It enables in-time maintenance or replacement of components. In Smart Circular Bridge the unknown aspects of material-ageing are counterbalanced by the structural health monitoring system. Structural safety can thus be guaranteed. This approach will significantly accelerate resource efficiency in Infrastructure.

Output: Smart Circular Bridge will build + equip 2 demo-bridges (NL+DE) and 1 final bridge (NL) within the NWE territory.

Long term: this can reduce up to 677.000 Tonnes of raw fossil material every year in the EU. Using the “Reduce, Reuse and Recycle” principles, Smart Circular Bridge will actively promote the role-out in Industry thus accelerating resource efficiency throughout the EU.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
TU/e Technische Universiteit Eindhoven 2 De Rondom
Eindhoven
5612AP
Netherlands
R.Blok@tue.nl www.tue.nl
Name Contact Name Email Country
KU Leuven Aart Willem van Vuure Aartwillem.vanvuure@kuleuven.be Belgium
FiberCore Europe BV Ed Hoogstad kroon@fibercore-europe.com Netherlands
24SEA BVBA Gert de Sitter gert.de.sitter@24sea.eu Belgium
VolkerInfra BV Menno van Oeveren mvanoeveren@vhbinfra.nl Netherlands
Lineo - groupe NatUp fibres (Before Ecotechnilin) Floran Pierre floran@eco-technilin.com France
Universität Stuttgart Hanaa Dahy h.dahy@itke.uni-stuttgart.de Germany
Centre of Expertise Biobased Economy (Stichting Avans) Alwin Hoogendoorn a.hoogendoorn@avans.nl Netherlands
Vrije Universiteit Brussel Christof Devriendt christof.devriendt@vub.be Belgium
Gemeente Bergen Op Zoom Dietmar Lemmens d.m.j.Lemmens@bergenopzoom.nl Netherlands
Gemeente Almere Sabrine Strijbos sastrijbos@almere.nl Netherlands
Gemeinde Ilsfeld Thomas Gessler thomas.gessler@ilsfeld.de Germany
Proesler Kommunikation Martin Prösler M.Proesler@proesler.com Germany
Concrefy b.v. Andrija Blagojevic andrija.blagojevic@concrefy.com Netherlands

Share this

Tweet Share