HI-ECOWIRE - High quality ecoefficient magnet wire


Project Summary

High Quality eco-efficient Magnet Wire:
Alternative Technology to produce insulated wire for motor applications (HI-ECOWIRE)

Magnet wire (approx. annual production of 120 000 tons in NWE) is used for transformers and electric motors. Materials technologies are facing increasing environmental challenges, productivity and competitiveness requiring a review of their production methods. Therefore, HI-ECOWIRE aims at developing a more sustainable and competitive production process with two main technical objectives:

  • Improve the energy performance and efficiency of electrical motors by 20% to 30% compared to the current situation by increasing the thermal class;
  • Considerably reduce the consumption of (partly toxic) solvents and VOC emissions.

One main overall target of this research activity is to develop a more environmental friendly product and process and thus reducing the CO2 footprint.

The project is based on an international consortium (SMEs, Industries, Research Centres and Universities) aiming at strengthening European competitiveness in the transport sector and energy production (wind turbine).

Starting from laboratory tests the project will optimize the new products and process and validate them at industrial scale.

Constant interactions with the industrial actors within and outside the consortium, based on strong dissemination activities, will be the key to success of the future technology transition.

Associated partners - clusters, associations and agencies - will contribute to communication, dissemination and technology spreading that will allow the relevant industries to have access to the project development once a pre-validated product becomes visible.

The Hi-Ecowire POSTER is available following this LINK.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
Materia Nova 3 Av Copernic
Mons
7000
Belgium
hi-ecowire@materianova.be www.materianova.be
Name Contact Name Email Country
GREEN ISOLIGHT INTERNATIONAL Philippe Frezel giifrezel@free.fr France
Université d’Artois Gabriel Velu gabriel.velu@univ-artois.fr France
Schwering & Hasse Elektrodraht GmbH Johann Reicher h.reicher@sh-wire.de Germany
JEUMONT Electric SAS Daniel Laloy daniel.laloy@jeumontelectric.com France
National University of Ireland Galway Maeve Duffy maeve.duffy@nuigalway.ie Ireland
KDE ENERGY FRANCE Michel Suzan m.suzan@kde-energy.fr France
ESIX Arnaud Nicolay Arnaud.Nicolay@esix.eu Belgium
NEWTECH Furio Melone f.melone@glnt.it
NextMove Geoffroy Martin geoffroy.martin@nextmove.fr France
Hochschule Esslingen, Institute für Nachhaltige Energietechnik und Mobilität Walter Czarnetzki walter.czarnetzki@hs-esslingen.de Germany

News



Events


European Coating Show - 14-16/09/2021

, Nuremberg, Germany

The largest group of visitors at the European Coatings Show in Nuremberg from 14 - 16 September 2021 comprises the formulators of paint, coatings, adhesives, sealants, additives, printing inks and construction chemicals. But representatives from industrial processors, science and research also know that the two-yearly European Coatings Show is a must event for the coatings industry. Materia Nova will participate to this event.
Read More

Hi-Ecowire webinar - 26/03/2021

, via TEAMS

This webinar, on March 26th from 11:00 to 12:30 and hosted by NextMove, will aim at giving you an overview of the project. Agenda Welcome and presentation of the host (15 min) General presentation of the project (45 min) - Project scope - Objectives and outputs - Main steps - Partners and roles - Associated partners Technology focus: hybrid ceramic-like coatings as promising technology for magnet wire (ESIX/MATERIA NOVA) (25 min) Q/A Session Once you are registered, you will receive a Teams link 1-2 days before the event to join the webinar.
Read More


Below downloadable technical sheets give a detailed overview of Sol-Gel and Polymer extrusion technologies that are being experimented within the Hi-Ecowire Projects.

 

SOL-GEL PROCESS

POLYMER EXTRUSION PROCESS

Share this

Tweet Share