HeatNet NWE: Transition strategies for delivering low carbon district heat


Project Summary

HeatNet NWE will address the challenge of reducing CO2 emissions in North West Europe by creating an integrated transnational NWE approach to the supply of renewable and low carbon heat (incl. waste heat) to residential and commercial buildings. District Heating and Cooling facilitates energy efficiency, less CO2 emissions and a greener economy. 

The project aims to develop and test 6 local district heating and cooling networks (DHC) in UK, Ireland, Belgium, France, and the Netherlands.

Objectives

The overall objective is to introduce and demonstrate the 4th generation DHC (4DHC) in NWE. This is a low-temperature distribution system that minimises heat loss, integrates energy storage and renewable energy sources, and supplies multiple low energy buildings.

The concept requires the development of new institutional and organizational frameworks.

The project will result in 15,000 t CO2e saved per annum at its end.

The main outputs are:

1. A transferrable HeatNet model for the implementation of 4DHC schemes in NWE;

2. Six living labs develop, test and demonstrate through investments the HeatNet model to make it robust;

3. Transition Roadmaps plan for roll out of new technical, institutional & organizational arrangements in 6 living labs (new roles and responsibilities of stakeholders, regulation & policies, spatial planning, business models & viability, connection to finance and markets, acceptance, etc);

4. Promotion and fostering of the HeatNet model in NWE  through Transition Roadmaps to secure wide and long term impact of HeatNet. The consortium combines emerging NWE-knowhow on 4DHC (Mijnwater BV, academic, energy planning) with the capacity in the long term to reduce institutional & organizational barriers and to deliver permanent infrastructure at local and regional level. Multiple partners expertise is diverse and needed to jointly develop and promote the HeatNet-model and assist 6 successful living labs at the investment sites.

Events

Save the date: HeatNet NWE Final conference

22-04-2020 – Heerlen, The Netherlands

Due to the Coronavirus outbreak, the conference is cancelled. We will inform you later about how it will be organised. Our final conference "Greening our cities with district ener... Read more

View more

News

Discover the HeatNet NWE project in video!

Posted on 04-02-2020

In this video, you will discover the goals of the project, the issues to deliver low carbon heat and how the pilot projects have been developed. This video is available in Englis... Read more

Report on Mijnwater Model and its replication in Wallonia

Posted on 13-03-2020

In this report, you can find an analysis of the model developed by Minjwater BV in Heerlen (the Netherlands), known as 5th generation district heating and cooling, based on flooded... Read more

View more

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
City of Dublin Energy Management Agency Ltd The Loft Crown Alley, Templebar
Dublin
2
Ireland
dec.mccormac@codema.ie www.codema.ie
Name Contact Name Email Country
Plymouth City Council Jonathan Selman jonathan.selman@plymouth.gov.uk United Kingdom
CAP 2020 asbl Michel Heukmes michel.heukmes@cap2020.be Belgium
Stad Kortrijk Gerda Flo Gerda.flo@kortrijk.be Belgium
Intercommunale Leiedal Dominiek Vandewiele Dominiek.Vandewiele@leiedal.be Belgium
Energy Cities Peter SCHILKEN peter.schilken@energy-cities.eu France
Ville de Boulogne-sur-Mer Hélène Evrard-Henon h.evrard@habitat-du-littoral.com France
Universiteit Gent Martijn van den Broeck martijn.vandenbroek@ugent.be Belgium
Hogeschool van Amsterdam Frank Suurenbroek f.suurenbroek@hva.nl Netherlands
Aberdeen City Council Amye Robinson lapaterson@aberdeencity.gov.uk United Kingdom
Mijnwater B.V. Herman Eijdems h.eijdems@mijnwater.com Netherlands
South Dublin County Council Eddie Conry econroy@sdcoco.ie Ireland
Centre d'études et d'expertise sur les risques, l'environnement, la mobilité et l'aménagement Sébastien Delhomelle Sebastien.delhomelle@cerema.fr France

News



Share this

Tweet Share