DigitalDeConstruction - Advanced Digital Solutions Supporting Reuse and High-Quality Recycling of Building Materials


Project Summary

Construction and demolition waste (CDW) accounts for about 1/3 of all waste produced in the EU. Ca. 50% of this amount is currently recycled in most EU countries, however the majority of CDW is destined for backfilling and other low value applications (downcycling). In NWE countries reuse and high-quality recycling (upcycling) of CDW remains below 3%. Poor digitisation of the construction sector is one of the key factors hindering better exploitation of circular opportunities.
DigitalDeConstruction (DDC) aims to develop an innovative digital decision support system, integrating various digital tools (3D scanning, Building Information Modelling, a digital materials & buildings database, blockchain technology) that helps to define the most sustainable and economical deconstruction and reuse strategy for buildings. The integrated DDC system will enable reuse and high-quality recycling of 25% of materials sourced from deconstructed buildings. The project focuses on regions having set sustainable materials management, ecotechnologies, ICT and digitization in industry as one of their RIS3 priorities in NL, BE, LUX, FR, paving the way for roll-out to UK and DE.
The project develops the following main outputs: an INTEGRATED DDC SYSTEM at TRL7, to be made accessible to companies in IT, engineering, construction & real estate sector as an open-source software package for further development and integration to market-ready products and services; a TRANSNATIONAL NETWORK of REGIONAL INNOVATION HUBS that support the optimization, validation, and roll-out of DDC solutions; 10 PILOTS, where the digital tools are tested in operational environment; an interactive DDC NAVIGATOR supporting the use and further adaptation of DDC tools.
Market development actions, end-user-focused training and capacity building activities boosted by innovation networks and targeted outreach activities will ensure the transnational roll-out and scaling up of project results.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Address Email Website
Provincie Limburg P.O. Box 5700
Maastricht
NL-6202 MA
Netherlands
hhajg.van.hooren@prvlimburg.nl www.limburg.nl
Name Contact Name Email Country
Campus Heerlen Management & Development BV (Brightlands Smart Services Campus) Boukje Ehlen Boukje.ehlen@brightlands.com Netherlands
NOBATEK/INEF4 Benjamin Laclau blaclau@nobatek.inef4.com France
Block Materials Simon Duindam simon@blockmaterials.com Netherlands
Laboratory for Green Transformable Buildings Elma Durmisevic e.durmisevic@4darchitects.nl Netherlands
GreenFlex Sébastien Delpont sdelpont@greenflex.com France
Cyprès International Jean-Yves Marié team@bim-y.com Luxembourg
BAM Construct UK Ltd Jesse Putzel jputzel@bam.co.uk United Kingdom
Kempens’ Landscape Tine van den Broeck Tine.vandenbroeck@kempenslandschap.be Belgium
Vilogia Agnieszka Bogucka agnieszka.bogucka@vilogia.fr France
Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology Annie Guerriero annie.guerriero@list.lu Luxembourg
Wetenschappelijk en Technisch Centrum voor het Bouwbedrijf (BBRI) Jeroen Vrijders Jeroen.vrijders@bbri.be Belgium
Schroeder et Associés s.a. Marc Feider Marc.feider@schroeder.lu Luxembourg
AREP Philippe Druesne philippe.druesne@arep.fr France
Société Nationale des Chemins de Fer Paul Valton paul.valton@sncf.fr France

Share this

Tweet Share