Project Summary

All over Europe, festivals take the lead in finding innovative ways to use resources intelligently, employ renewable systems and reduce emissions. Yet at these festivals, diesel generators are still the most employed source to provide electricity due to a large amount of power needed. Using diesel to generate electricity has big disadvantages: substantial CO2 emissions, noise annoyance of droning generators, and bad smell. With the latest developments in renewable energy, for instance vertical axis wind turbines, more efficient solar panels, improved batteries, now allow for an efficient and economically attractive approach to produce large amounts of power from sustainable resources only.


PowerVIBES aims to reduce festivals’ carbon footprint by 20% by making diesel generators superfluous. Instead, affordable and reliable energy is produced from renewable resources wind, biomass, and solar power. To illustrate, if the Netherlands’ summer festivals cut their diesel consumption by 10%, over 1.000.000 litres of diesel and over 3,000 tonnes of CO2 is saved annually.


This project combines a vertical axis wind turbine, PV panels, and a battery, all customized in a containerized unit and with a bio-fuel generator as backup. All are connected in a smart grid. Two of such transportable units (with smart grid) will be built and tested on in total 16 festival sites. This extensive testing regime is essential as of large differences among festivals, as they operate under significantly different legal, technical, seasonal, locational, and environmental conditions. This process of reflection and feedback (with a loop of testing-analysing-adjusting-implementing after each test) leads to a (practically) universally applicable system, to be used in all countries of the NWE region.


This energy production is completely clean. Therefore, the unit can be clearly visible on a festival site to reach an audience of millions that experiences this sustainable energy concept.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven Faas Moonen 5 Groene Loper
Eindhoven
5612AZ
Netherlands
s.p.g.moonen@tue.nl www.tue.nl
Name Contact Name Email Country
IBIS Power BV Alexander Suma alexander@ibispower.eu Netherlands
Double 2 BV Mediaproducties Noor Vos noor@d2bv.nl Netherlands
The Factory CVBA - VSO Joke Wellens Joke,wellens@gmail.com Belgium
Off Grid Energy Limited Danny Jones danny.jones@offgrid-energy.co.uk United Kingdom
3D asbl Sylvie Denoncin sylvie@3dasbl.be Belgium
RPS Conservation Services Rob Scully rob@RPSconservation.co.uk United Kingdom
Stichting Noorderslag Marcel Albers marcel.albers@noorderslag.nl Netherlands
Flexotels BV Hubert Von Heijden hubert@flexotels.com Netherlands
ZAP Concepts Paul Schurink paul@zapconcepts.com Netherlands

Share this

Tweet Share