Project Summary

The Ocean Power Innovation Network (OPIN) will design, test and deliver an innovation model to build cross-sectoral collaboration, to accelerate growth of the Ocean Energy (OE) sector and its supply chains.
Currently, lack of cross-sectoral collaboration limits the opportunity to bring existing and already proven expertise, capabilities and products from other sectors into the OE sector. This makes OE technology development unnecessarily expensive and slow. 
Future growth of the OE sector can benefit from developments in other sectors, e.g. offshore wind energy, oil & gas, aerospace and automotive, exploiting positive synergies in technology developments, infrastructure, and supply chain. Mutual learning processes, shared infrastructure and innovations from a shared supply chain will be of benefit to the future expansion of both the OE sector and related sectors involved in the supply chain.
OPIN will build an environment where SMEs can collaborate transnationally, and across sectors, and build wider supply chains for the OE sector. Change will be achieved by supporting collaborative innovation across sectors and territories to tackle identified common challenges. New solutions will be turned into new products; the supply chain will be developed. The development of a long-term network allows a focus for these transnational and cross-sector alliances to continue beyond the project.
OPIN activities include the growth of a transnational cross sector network, challenge calls for cross-sectoral collaborative innovation projects, and tailored support to SMEs. After 3 years, OPIN will have supported over 100 companies, with 30 products tested, of which 10 developing to TRL7.
Beyond the project, the OPIN network will be an established mechanism for transfer of know-how, with 200 members across NWE.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland Patricia Comiskey Wilton Park House Wilton Place
Dublin 2
D02 T228
Ireland
Patricia.Comiskey@seai.ie https://www.seai.ie
Name Contact Name Email Country
Scottish Enterprise Karen Fraser Karen.Fraser@scotent.co.uk United Kingdom
Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult Simon Cheeseman simon.cheeseman@ore.catapult.org.uk United Kingdom
Sirris, the collective centre of the technological industry Bart Teerlinck bart.teerlinck@sirris.be Belgium
Ecole Centrale de Nantes Florent Vince florent.vince@weamec.fr France
Dutch Marine Energy Centre Justin den Hartog justin@dutchmarineenergy.com Netherlands
Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung e.V. Jochen Giebhardt Jochen.Giebhardt@iee.fraunhofer.de Germany

Share this

Tweet Share