OIP4NWE - Open-Innovation Photonics pilot for NWE


Project Summary

The NWE region contains 75% of the European activities in Photonic Integrated Circuits (PICs). SMEs play a pivotal role, but most SMEs cannot afford capital-intensive PIC manufacturing facilities
Open-access facilities are of a laboratory nature (TRL4) and inadequate for manufacturing PICs with cost-efficiency, speed and reliable quality (TRL7). The equipment for PIC manufacturing is of an innovative, specialised nature that cannot be obtained from a single country. As application grows, NWE needs to stay ahead; intense collaboration between innovation stakeholders at transnational level is needed now
 

OIP4NWE unites 7 enterprises, 3 research institutes and 4 innovation clusters. It includes innovation leaders (NL, DE, BE) to strong innovators (IR, UK) and a less innovative high-potential region in FR. The main output will be a pilot line offering faster, affordable and reliable PIC production. It will be validated by 3 SMEs. A voucher system will be employed for another 7 SME's

After project end, the pilot line will be continued as self-sustainable facilities. Embedding it in an Open Innovation Ecosystem with a TransNational Network, will ensure the NWE position as a global leader in integrated photonics. Projections for 2034 for NWE: 1000 SMEs active in integrated photonics with 3200 new jobs

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Eindhoven University of Technology Dr. Victor Dolores-Calzadilla 70 De Rondom
Eindhoven
5612 AP
Netherlands
v.calzadilla@tue.nl www.tue.nl/en
Name Contact Name Email Country
AIXTRON SE Michael Heuken M.Heuken@aixtron.com Germany
Photonics Bretagne David Méchin dmechin@photonics-bretagne.com France
Vrije Universiteit Brussel Jürgen Van Erps jurgen.van.erps@vub.be Belgium
SMART Photonics Joop Bruines joop.bruines@smartphotonics.nl Netherlands
Tyndall National Institute Peter O'Brien peter.obrien@tyndall.ie Ireland
VTEC Lasers & Sensors Jan Mink jan@vtec-ls.nl Netherlands
Technobis Fibre Technologies Ellen Schipper ellen.schipper@technobis.com Netherlands
mBryonics Limited David Mackey david@mbryonics.com Ireland
Oxford Instruments nanotechnology Tools Ltd Mike Cooke mike.cooke@oxinst.com United Kingdom
NanoMicroMaterialsPhotonics.NRW Cluster c/o NMWP Management GmbH Dirk Kalinowski dirk.kalinowski@nmwp.de Germany
Photon Delta Anna Nikiel anna@photondelta.eu Netherlands

News



Share this

Tweet Share