ITEG - Integrating Tidal energy into the European Grid


Project Summary

An €11 million Interreg North-West Europe (NWE) project has been launched in Orkney to develop an all-in-one solution for the generation of clean predictable energy, grid management, and the production of hydrogen from excess capacity.

Led by the European Marine Energy Centre (EMEC) in Orkney, the €11m Integrating Tidal Energy into the European Grid (ITEG) project brings together partners from across the UK, France, Belgium and the Netherlands to address energy-related carbon emissions in North-West Europe and tackle grid export limitations faced in remote areas such as Orkney.

The project consortium includes EMEC, Orbital Marine Power, AREVA H2Gen, the Energy Systems Catapult, Energy Valley/New Energy Coalition, University of Caen Normandy, University of Le Havre Normandy, Ghent University and the Normandy Development Agency.

Funded by the Interreg NWE programme, part of the ERDF (European Regional Development Fund), the project will deliver an onshore energy management system at EMEC’s Fall of Warness tidal test site, off the northern Orkney island of Eday. This will support the production of hydrogen using an AREVA H2Gen electrolyser, the first to be deployed in the UK, which will be powered by Orbital Marine Power's next generation 2 MW floating tidal energy converter, the Orbital O2 2MW.

The cost of pre-commercial demonstration for ocean energy is high and investors are reluctant to invest until the technology has been proven in the sea at scale. ITEG sets out to drive down these costs through the development of an integrated hydrogen production solution.

Hero image: Orbital Marine Power's SR2000 testing at EMEC's Fall of Warness test site (Credit Orbital Marine Power)

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
European Marine Energy Centre Matthew Finn 1 Old Academy Business Center
Stromness
KW163AW
United Kingdom
matthew.finn@emec.org.uk www.emec.org.uk
Name Contact Name Email Country
Agence de Développement pour la Normandie Amandine Volard a.volard@spl-onem.fr France
Orbital Marine Power James Murray j.murray@orbitalmarine.com United Kingdom
Energy Valley Patrick Cnubben cnubben@energyvalley.nl Netherlands
Université de Caen Normandie Hamid Gualous hamid.gualous@unicaen.fr France
Université le Havre Normandie Brayima Dakyo brayima.dakyo@univ-lehavre.fr France
Ghent University Dominique Dhont dominique.dhont@ugent.be Belgium
Energy Systems Catapult Richard Halsey richard.halsey@es.catapult.org.uk United Kingdom
AREVA H2GEN Ian Williamson ian.Williamson@arevah2gen.com France

Share this

Tweet Share