HeatNet: Transition strategies for delivering low carbon district heat


Project Summary

HeatNet will address the challenge of reducing CO2 emissions in North West Europe by creating an integrated transnational NWE approach to the supply of renewable and low carbon heat (incl. waste heat) to residential and commercial buildings. District Heating and Cooling facilitates energy efficiency, less CO2 emissions and a greener economy. 

The project aims to develop and test 6 local district heating and cooling networks (DHC) in UK, Ireland, Belgium, France, and the Netherlands.

Objectives

The overall objective is to introduce and demonstrate the 4th generation DHC (4DHC) in NWE. This is a low-temperature distribution system to minimise heat loss, integrated energy storage, integrated renewable energy sources and supply to multiple low energy buildings.

The concept requires the development of new institutional and organizational frameworks.

The project will result in 15,000 t CO2e saved per annum at its end.

The main outputs are:

1. A transferrable HeatNet model for the implementation of 4DHC schemes in NWE;

2. Six living labs develop, test and demonstrate through investments the HeatNet model to make it robust;

3. Transition Roadmaps plan for roll out of new technical, institutional & organizational arrangements in 6 living labs (new roles and responsibilities of stakeholders, regulation & policies, spatial planning, business models & viability, connection to finance and markets, acceptance, etc);

4. Promotion and fostering of the HeatNet model in NWE  through Transition Roadmaps to secure wide and long term impact of HeatNet. The consortium combines emerging NWE-knowhow on 4DHC (Mijnwater BV, academic, energy planning) with the capacity in the long term to reduce institutional & organizational barriers and to deliver permanent infrastructure at local and regional level. Multiple partners expertise is diverse and needed to jointly develop and promote the HeatNet-model and assist 6 successful living labs at the investment sites.

Events

Save the date: Interreg North-West Europe Info Day in Namur for Walloon applicants

29-11-2017 – Namur, Belgium

General information about the Interreg North-West Europe Programme and individual guidance for Walloon project applicants Read more

View more events

News

49 project proposals received in call 6

Posted on 21-11-2017

The sixth call for project proposals received 49 applications. The Monitoring Committee will decide in February 2018 which ones will go on to prepare a step 2 application. Read more

Interreg NWE project wins the RegioStars Awards 2017!

Posted on 11-10-2017

The project Bio Base NWE, funded by the Interreg North-West Europe Programme 2007-2013, is the winner of the RegioStars Awards 2017 in the category 1: ‘Smart Specialisation for SME innovation’. Read more

View more news

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
City of Dublin Energy Management Agency Ltd Declan McCormac The Loft Crown Alley, Templebar
Dublin
2
Ireland
dec.mccormac@codema.ie www.codema.ie
Name Contact Name Email Country
Plymouth City Council Alex Midlen alex.midlen@plymouth.gov.uk United Kingdom
CAP 2020 asbl Michel Heukmes michel.heukmes@cap2020.be Belgium
Stad Kortrijk Gerda Flo Gerda.flo@kortrijk.be Belgium
Intercommunale Leiedal Dominiek Vandewiele Dominiek.Vandewiele@leiedal.be Belgium
Energy Cities Ian Turner ian.turner@energy-cities.eu France
Ville de Boulogne-sur-Mer Hélène Evrard-Henon h.evrard@habitat-du-littoral.com France
Universiteit Gent Martijn van den Broeck martijn.vandenbroek@ugent.be Belgium
Hogeschool van Amsterdam Frank Suurenbroek f.suurenbroek@hva.nl Netherlands
Les 7 Vents Florian Guillotte florian.guillotte@7vents.fr France
Aberdeen City Council Amye Robinson lapaterson@aberdeencity.gov.uk United Kingdom
Mijnwater B.V. Herman Eijdems h.eijdems@mijnwater.com Netherlands
South Dublin County Council Eddie Conry econroy@sdcoco.ie Ireland
Centre d'études et d'expertise sur les risques, l'environnement, la mobilité et l'aménagement Sébastien Delhomelle Sebastien.delhomelle@cerema.fr France

Share this

Tweet Share