HeatNet: Transition strategies for delivering low carbon district heat


Project Summary

HeatNet will address the challenge of reducing CO2 emissions in North West Europe by creating an integrated transnational NWE approach to the supply of renewable and low carbon heat (incl. waste heat) to residential and commercial buildings. District Heating and Cooling facilitates energy efficiency, less CO2 emissions and a greener economy. 

The project aims to develop and test 6 local district heating and cooling networks (DHC) in UK, Ireland, Belgium, France, and the Netherlands.

Objectives

The overall objective is to introduce and demonstrate the 4th generation DHC (4DHC) in NWE. This is a low-temperature distribution system to minimise heat loss, integrated energy storage, integrated renewable energy sources and supply to multiple low energy buildings.

The concept requires the development of new institutional and organizational frameworks.

The project will result in 15,000 t CO2e saved per annum at its end.

The main outputs are:

1. A transferrable HeatNet model for the implementation of 4DHC schemes in NWE;

2. Six living labs develop, test and demonstrate through investments the HeatNet model to make it robust;

3. Transition Roadmaps plan for roll out of new technical, institutional & organizational arrangements in 6 living labs (new roles and responsibilities of stakeholders, regulation & policies, spatial planning, business models & viability, connection to finance and markets, acceptance, etc);

4. Promotion and fostering of the HeatNet model in NWE  through Transition Roadmaps to secure wide and long term impact of HeatNet. The consortium combines emerging NWE-knowhow on 4DHC (Mijnwater BV, academic, energy planning) with the capacity in the long term to reduce institutional & organizational barriers and to deliver permanent infrastructure at local and regional level. Multiple partners expertise is diverse and needed to jointly develop and promote the HeatNet-model and assist 6 successful living labs at the investment sites.

Events

No upcoming events

View more events

News

Seventh call for project proposals now open until 26 April 2018

Posted on 26-03-2018

The seventh Interreg North-West Europe call for project proposals is now open until 26 April 2018 (noon, CET). Read more

List of step 2 approved projects from Calls 3 and 4

Posted on 08-03-2018

Six projects were approved (call 3 and 4, step 2) after the Monitoring Committee meeting on 7 March 2018 in Brussels. Read more

View more news

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
City of Dublin Energy Management Agency Ltd Declan McCormac The Loft Crown Alley, Templebar
Dublin
2
Ireland
dec.mccormac@codema.ie www.codema.ie
Name Contact Name Email Country
Plymouth City Council Alex Midlen alex.midlen@plymouth.gov.uk United Kingdom
CAP 2020 asbl Michel Heukmes michel.heukmes@cap2020.be Belgium
Stad Kortrijk Gerda Flo Gerda.flo@kortrijk.be Belgium
Intercommunale Leiedal Dominiek Vandewiele Dominiek.Vandewiele@leiedal.be Belgium
Energy Cities Perrine ETHUIN perrine.ethuin@energy-cities.eu France
Ville de Boulogne-sur-Mer Hélène Evrard-Henon h.evrard@habitat-du-littoral.com France
Universiteit Gent Martijn van den Broeck martijn.vandenbroek@ugent.be Belgium
Hogeschool van Amsterdam Frank Suurenbroek f.suurenbroek@hva.nl Netherlands
Les 7 Vents Florian Guillotte florian.guillotte@7vents.fr France
Aberdeen City Council Amye Robinson lapaterson@aberdeencity.gov.uk United Kingdom
Mijnwater B.V. Herman Eijdems h.eijdems@mijnwater.com Netherlands
South Dublin County Council Eddie Conry econroy@sdcoco.ie Ireland
Centre d'études et d'expertise sur les risques, l'environnement, la mobilité et l'aménagement Sébastien Delhomelle Sebastien.delhomelle@cerema.fr France

News


Save the date! Webinaire sur les Réseaux de Chaleur 4ème génération

Posted on

Dans le cadre du projet Interreg HeatNet NWE et en collaboration avec CEREMA, Energy Cities vous invite à participer un webinaire sur les réseaux de chaleur 4ème génération. Les réseaux de chaleur ont bien amorcé leur transition énergétique avec le développement des EnR&R. Certains vont encore plus loin en s’adaptant non seulement aux nouveaux bâtiments basse consommation mais également en s'intégrant dans une démarche SMARTGRID. Le projet Interreg HeatNet NWE dresse un état des lieux des freins et succès au développement des réseaux de chaleur 4ème génération en Europe du Nord-Ouest via des expérimentations concrètes. Ce webinaire vous donnera l'occasion d'en apprendre plus sur le sujet en permettant l’échange avec des porteurs de projets. Read More


Share this

Tweet Share