Project Summary

Happymoo will set up, demonstrate and roll-out a tool for dairy farmers, vets and extension workers to monitor cows' welfare: freedom from disease, hunger and stress. In the highly competitive NWE dairy sector (60% of EU milk), animal welfare is an increasing concern, cause of economic losses. Meanwhile, the sector is very heterogeneous (small-big farms, organic-conventional farming, different legal settings), and challenged by digital revolution and the processing of increasing amounts of data in an integrated way. The core business of farmers’ organizations (8 partners) is to record animals’ performances, and so to produce tools for management and breeding purposes, e.g. milk recording. So, big quantities of data are processable. With vets, intermediaries (labs&authorities), and universities, all these will be computed and valued in machine learning models to screen cows according to the 3 welfare freedoms, linked to economic aspects. Major efforts will be made on biomarkers in milk and on innovative set of digital data processing systems: full and NWE-wide digitalization of the procedures, from milk analysis to decision making through animal monitoring, with exploitation of OPTIMIR project/EMR EEIG (Interreg IV-B) that enables today the standardization of milk analysis results.
Outputs: Digitalization of required data and automated computation system (from lab to farm) ; Regular, cost-effective, individualized and non-invasive monitoring of animal welfare at large scale, instead of "on-demand" procedures ; Screening of animals for optimized vet’s intervention ; Simultaneous access to animal status for farmers and veterinarians (and other stakeholders).
(Long-term) Results: Fast, efficient decisions making at farm level with user friendly tools ; Cost savings for farms due to more early and individual care of cows ; Secured jobs in the dairy sector ; Improved animal welfare and society's perception of cattle farming.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Assocation Wallonne de l'Elevage asbl Xavier Massart 4 Rue des Champs Elysées
Ciney
5590
Belgium
xmassart@awenet.be www.awenet.be
Name Contact Name Email Country
France Conseil Elevage Christophe Lecomte christophe.lecomte@france-conseil-elevage.fr France
Regional association for performance testing in livestock breeding of Baden-Württemberg Friz Gollé-Leidreiter fgolle@lkvbw.de Germany
Qualitas AG Urs Schuler Urs.Schuler@qualitasag.ch Switzerland
Centre wallon de Recherche agronomique Frédéric Dehareng f.dehareng@cra.wallonie.be Belgium
University of Liège - Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech Nicolas Gengler nicolas.gengler@ulg.ac.be Belgium
ESTEL Numérique Jean-Pierre Allard jp.allard@estel-numerique.com France
State Control Association of North Rhine-Westphalia Peter Hoeckels hoeckels@lkv-nrw.de Germany
Institute for milk testing GmbH & Co. KG Peter Höckels hoeckels@lkv-nrw.de Germany
CONVIS s.c. Romain Reding Romain.Reding@convis.lu Luxembourg
Institut de l'Elevage Marie-Pierre Jacqueroud Marie-Pierre.Jacqueroud@idele.fr France
Irish Cattle Breeding Federation Society Limited Mike Lynch mlynch@icbf.com Ireland
National Milk Records PLC Martin Busfield MartinB@NMR.co.uk United Kingdom

Share this

Tweet Share