Project Summary

The GROOF project is an innovative cross-sectoral approach to reduce CO2 emissions in the construction and agricultural sectors by combining energy sharing and local food production. The idea is to use roof greenhouses as a tool for (1) recovering actively the produced and not consumed heat generated and otherwise lost by the building that supports the structure (through the ventilation system) and passively (30% heat lost through the roofs on average) in vegetables and herbs production, (2) collect CO2 produced by human activity and building activities to "feed" the plants, (3) reduce transport-generated CO2 emissions by producing plants locally.  The greenhouse itself is an extra activity located outside of the building but sharing energy with it in order to make both of the structures more efficient.


Concretely, the project will facilitate the emergence of this type of greenhouse on the market by demonstrating and disseminating among the actors of construction and agriculture good practices favorable to the development of profitable and functional business and social models.


The project will aim specifically at: (1) identifying and reducing barriers to market access (urban planning rules, technical regulations, insurance, etc.), (2) supporting first users in the implementation of their project, (3) experimenting and demonstrating the effectiveness of technology for a representative number of business and social models. The results of each activity will be shared with the target communities (e.g. regional and national public authorities, SMEs and large companies, research centers).


GROOF will invest in four pilots, designed to prove the effectiveness and durability of the models related to different building types. GROOF will then launch this solution on the European market.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Conseil de Développement Economique pour la Construction Nicolas Zita 5 Zone d’Activité Economique Krakelshaff
Bettembourg
3290
Luxembourg
n.zita@cdec.lu www.cdec.lu
Name Contact Name Email Country
Université de Liège, Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech Haïssam Jijakli mh.jijakli@ulg.ac.be Belgium
EBF GmbH Franz Schreier franz.schreier@ebf-gmbh.de Germany
ASTREDHOR: Institut Technique de l’Horticulture Guillaume Morel-Chevillet guillaume.morel@astredhor.fr France
Centre Scientifique et Technique du Bâtiment Maeva Sabre maeva.sabre@cstb.fr France
Hochschule Trier Institut für angewandtes Stoffstrommanagement Thomas Anton t.anton@umwelt-campus.de Germany
Groupe One Marc Lemaire marc.lemaire@groupeone.be Belgium
Cluster Eco Construction Hervé-JAcques Poskin hj@ecoconstruction.be Belgium
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona Xavier Gabarrell xavier.gabarrell@uab.cat
Les Jardins de Gally Nicolas Brulard nbrulard@gally.com France
Institut de Formation Sectoriel du Bâtiment Christophe Mélon c.melon@ifsb.lu Luxembourg

Share this

Tweet Share