Project Summary

NWE has to reduce CO2 emission. One major source of CO2 is the production of electricity and heat by burning fossil fuels, which could be vastly replaced by using deep geothermal energy (DGE). However, the exploration of DGE in most NWE regions requires specific expertise and technologies in the complex geological situations (strongly faulted high permeable carbonates and coarse clastic rocks) that lie across the borders between Germany, France, the Netherlands and Belgium.
It is the objective of DGE-Rollout to produce energy and reduce CO2 emissions by replacing fossil fuels through the increased usage of DGE in NWE for large-scale infrastructures requiring high-temperature heat supplies to cover their basic energy loads. This will be achieved by mapping and networking (WPT1), by the application of innovative decision, exploration strategies (WPT2) and testing for production optimization (WPT3).
In two pilots (Balmatt, BE; Bochum, DE) production optimization will be tested by implementing high-temperature heat pumps and new cascading schemes from high (>100°C, big network) to low tempatures (>50°C, single enterprise) and to gain a CO2 reduction of 25 000 t/a. By realising further plants in DE, FR, BE, NL this will reach up to 160 000 t/a until 2022. It is estimated that 10 years after the project’s end, at least 1 600 000 t/a reduction will have been achieved. In the long term, it is expected to reach up to 7 000 000 t/a.
Further activities will apply innovative decision and exploration strategies that cost less, reduce risks, are more reliable and will show a 3D Atlas of the complex geological situation as the spatial basis usable for DGE. To set the stage for increased public acceptance of DGE, tools, planning and legal conditions need to be evaluated and business models for enterprises undertaken. A network/cluster “NWE-DGE” will be set up to sustain the outputs and investments in the long term roll-out after the end of the project.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Geological Survey of NRW Martin Salamon 195 De-Greiff-Straße
Krefeld
47803
Germany
martin.salamon@gd.nrw.de www.gd.nrw.de
Name Contact Name Email Country
DMT GmbH & Co. KG Boris Dombrowski boris.dombrowski@dmt-group.com Germany
EBN B.V. Nora Heijnen nora.heijnen@ebn.nl Netherlands
Royal Belgian Institute for Natural Sciences Yves Vanbrabant yves.vanbrabant@naturalsciences.be Belgium
International Geothermal Centre, Bochum University of Applied Sciences Dr. Meral Fero meral.fero@geothermie-zentrum.de Germany
RWE Power AG Thomas.oswald thomas.oswald@rwe.com Germany
The Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research Hans Veldkamp hans.veldkamp@tno.nl Netherlands
Technische Universität Darmstadt Daniel Schulte schulte@geo.tu-darmstadt.de Germany
Flemish Institute for Technological Research Ben Laenen ben.laenen@vito.be Belgium
French geological survey Mathieu Darnet m.darnet@brgm.fr France

Share this

Tweet Share