CHIPS


Project Summary

CHIPS (Cycle Highways Innovation for smarter People Transport and Spatial Planning) will develop and promote cycle highways as an effective and cost efficient low carbon solution for commuting towards and from urban employment poles. CHIPS will demonstrate that, especially in combination with the growing number of e-bikes, cycle highway innovation can effectively get commuters out of their cars.

Project partners from Belgium, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK will develop solutions that will help regions and mobility stakeholders to:

  • Position cycle highways as a new mobility product
  • Overcome physical and behavioural barriers that keep commuters from using cycle highways
  • Maximize synergies between cycle highways and trains, buses and cars
  • Upgrade cycle highways to key structuring elements in future spatial planning
  • Monitor performance and assess impact

Join the Cycle Highway Network!

Use this link to join the CHIPS Cycle Highway Academy Group on Linkedin. Click on the "Ask to join" button.

CHIPS Linkedin Group

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Provincie Vlaams-Brabant Magalie Vanlishout 1 Provincieplein
Leuven
3010
Belgium
magalie.vanlishout@vlaamsbrabant.be www.vlaamsbrabant.be
Name Contact Name Email Country
Provincie Gelderland Frank Eggen f.eggen@gelderland.nl Netherlands
Regionalverband FrankfurtRheinMain Reinhard Henke henke@region-frankfurt.de Germany
Regionalverband Ruhr Thomas Pott pott@rvr-online.de Germany
Verband Region Rhein-Neckar Klemens Groeger Klemens.groeger@vrrn.de Germany
European Cyclists’ Federation Carolien Ruebens c.ruebens@ecf.com Belgium
Flanders’ Bike Valley vzw Bert Celis bert.celis@flandersbikevalley.be Belgium
Sustrans Gordon Clarke gordon.clarke@sustrans.org.uk United Kingdom
Stichting NHTV internationale hogeschool Breda Joost de Kruijf kruijf.j@nhtv.nl Netherlands

News


CHIPS’ Love is in the air campaign thanks cycling commuters on Valentine's Day in Belfast

Posted on

CHIPS Partners Sustrans and Translink (Northern Ireland's integrated bus and rail public transport company) have partnered on Valentine’s Day to say ‘thank you’ to bus and cycling commuters for not polluting our air. The ‘Love Is in the Air’ campaign in Belfast aimed to raise awareness of the high levels of air pollution caused mainly by car traffic. Read More

Hit the cycle road: The development of an EU Cycling Strategy starts with a chapter on infrastructure

Posted on

Doubling cycling in the EU in the next ten years calls for the development of a European cycling strategy. To obtain political support at the highest level, the European Cyclists’ Federation together with the Permanent Representation of the Republic of Slovakia to the EU and the European CHIPS project kicked off the process with an expert meeting on infrastructure and more specifically cycle highways. Read More


5 Cycle Highways



Public Events



Cycle Highway Academies



Video on the Cycle Highway Definition

A Cycle Highway is a mobility product that provides a high quality functional cycling connection. As backbone of a cycle network, it connects cities and or suburbs, residential areas and major (work)places and it satisfies its (potential) users.

A definition of a Cycle Highway according to CHIPS

Share this

Tweet Share