CHARM - Circular Housing Asset Renovation & Management


Project Summary

The building sector is responsible for more than 60% of resource use in Europe with more than 30-50% of material use taking place in the housing construction sector. The sector also generates about one third of all waste in the EU. It is because of these staggering statistics that increasing resource efficiency in the housing sector is of great importance for a sustainable society.

Currently, the trend is to improve recycling of building materials from demolition waste. This often leads to downcycling, reducing the use value of materials. For example, concrete from buildings being converted to form the foundations of roads. A circular economy promotes optimal reuse of building materials at at least an equivalent value, such as bricks reused as bricks.

CHARM  develops and implements an asset management approach that prevents downcycling of materials in renovation and construction of social rented dwellings by creating:

  • circular building strategies tested in demonstration exemplars
  • guidelines for a circular procurement strategy for social housing organisations
  • material exchange platforms to enable circular flows of materials and building components in the social rented sector

The project output will be jointly generated by social housing organisations from 4 countries in the InterregNWE region (Belgium, France, the Netherlands, United Kingdom), in co-creation with supply chain partners and knowledge institutes. 

The CHARM building strategies will lead to 36% of materials being prevented from downcycling, compared to the current maximum of 10%. This is equivalent to 40.000 tonnes of annual material recovery by the project partners alone. Dissemination and uptake of the results in the social rented sector in the NWE region will be achieved through the involvement of European, as well as national, innovation exchange platforms.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Delft University of Technology Vincent Gruis 1 Mekelweg
Delft
2628CD
Netherlands
v.h.gruis@tudelft.nl www.tudelft.nl
Name Contact Name Email Country
Accord Housing Association Limited Carl Taylor Carl.Taylor@bchs.coop United Kingdom
Paris Habitat Isabelle Quet-Hamon isabelle.quethamon@parishabitat.fr France
Housing corporation Woonbedrijf Rob Bogaarts r.bogaarts@woonbedrijf.com Netherlands
Zonnige Kempen Luc Stijnen luc.stijnen@zonnigekempen.be Belgium
European Federation for Living Joost Nieuwenhuijzen jfnieuwenhuijzen@ef-l.eu Netherlands
Kamp C Jonathan Verdonck jonathan.verdonck@kampc.be Belgium
University of Birmingham Halima Sacranie H.Sacranie@bham.ac.uk United Kingdom

News



Events



Share this

Tweet Share