Care-Peat - Reducing carbon emissions and restoring carbon storage capacity of peatlands


Project Summary

Northern hemisphere peatland soils contain ~33% of global soil carbon, while accounting for only 3-5% of total land area. Many of these peatlands are degraded and emit rather than store carbon. Global annual GHG emissions from drained organic soils are ~1,600 MT CO2 eq., twice that from aviation. In NWE this is ~150 MT/year, more than Belgium’s emissions. Yet emission estimates  from degraded peatlands are inadequate and we lack effective strategies and methods to combat degradation and promote recovery. Regional differences in land ownership complicate the situation and limit the replicability and transferability of effective alternative management of peatlands. Care-Peat will demonstrate innovative technologies and partnerships that achieve net emissions savings from novel restoration and accounting techniques in NWE.

Within Care-Peat, nature organisations work with landowner groups to demonstrate carbon savings potential using pilots ranging from 10 to 250 ha. Five knowledge institutes from 3 countries work together to develop and test new techniques for improved peatland carbon assessment and accounting to highlight the region’s natural potential for significant carbon reduction. The project works with innovative companies in the field of restoration and develops partnerships with local and regional stakeholders to increase the impact of pilots and maximize socio-economic benefits. Methods tested and validated will be transferred and replicated to users across NWE to determine the most appropriate management measures. Partners, who manage additional peatlands, will facilitate further restorations after project end to benefit both biodiversity and carbon reduction policies. The project will continuously liaise with our CConnects partners to maximise exchange, cooperation and dissemination. The effect of pilots at project end is a C reduction of 7,800 tonnes/year, after 5 years 0.14 MT/y and after 10 years 1.4 MT/y across other NWE nature reserves.

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
Natuurpunt Katrien Wijns 11 Coxiestraat
Mechelen
2800
Belgium
katrien.wijns@natuurpunt.be https://www.natuurpunt.be/
Name Contact Name Email Country
Scientific Research National Centre Fatima Laggoun Fatima.Laggoun@univ-orleans.fr France
French Geological Survey Office Laurent Andre l.andre@brgm.fr France
Lancashire Wildlife Trust Jo Kennedy jkennedy@lancswt.org.uk United Kingdom
Manchester Metropolitan University Chris Field C.Field@mmu.ac.uk United Kingdom
National University of Ireland Galway Terry Morley terry.morley@nuigalway.ie Ireland
Eurosite Kristijan Civic kcivic@eurosite.org Netherlands
Natuurmonumenten Arnoud Popping a.popping@natuurmonumenten.nl Netherlands
University of Orleans Sébastien Gogo Sebastien.gogo@univ-orleans.fr France

News


Save the date: Start Conference Care-Peat (June 12th, Manchester, UK)

Posted on

We are proud to present our Interreg project Care-Peat. At the Start Conference in Manchester (June 12th 2019) you will learn more about the project and meet the different partners and stakeholders. We will also bring together different EU-projects on peatland restoration and discuss how to cooperate. Finally, you can participate in several workshops about measuring methods in the pilots. At the end of the day, there's an optional site visit and evening meal. Read More


Events



Share this

Tweet Share