Project Summary

Issue  
 The EC recently ratified a target of 27% of renewable energy by 2030, in association with a target of 40% carbon reduction.  NWE needs to decarbonise its energy system.  Wind energy is currently the most mature & cost-effective means of renewable energy generation, however land space and access to shallow offshore site (less than 50m water depth) are limited; space for future deployments is a major issue for further increasing wind generation capacity. 

Wide spread market uptake of wind energy in deep water sites requires 4 elements;
- Demonstration of high survivability cost competitive Floating Offshore Wind (FOW) technology
- Raise awareness with and provide confidence to investors and project developers regarding technology investability
- Creation of supportive policy environment
- Develop an active supply chain

Change
Demonstrate the investability with at least 20 investors & project developers to raise awareness and promote the uptake of FOW.
 
Creation of a shared political and industry vision for the development of FOW across the entire NWE region.  Currently there is no shared vision.
 
Outputs
Publication of a NWE FOW Development Plan to coordinate a change in private sector perception of floating offshore wind investability, whilst also creating supportive policy and an active supply chain across the NWE region. 
 
Deployment of FOW platform in depths of over 50m, average wind resource of 10m/s and extreme waves of over 30m that will generate 13,140 MWh/y. Building on the work that SAIPEM did deploying the HyWind project.

Long term effects
By 2032 the project will have supported:
- Commercial uptake of the solution on 5 sites
- 2000 MW additional capacity of floating offshore wind energy production
- 1,040,000 tons CO2 equivalent decrease of GHG emissions

Project Partners

Lead partner

Organisation Contact name Address Email Website
The European Marine Energy Centre Limited Nicolas Wallet 1 Back Street
Stromness
KW163AW
United Kingdom
nicolas.wallet@emec.org.uk www.emec.org.uk/
Name Contact Name Email Country
The Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland Nathalie Sheridan Nathalie.Sheridan@seai.ie Ireland
SAIPEM SA Thierry Delahaye Thierry.delahaye@saipem.com France
Maritime Research Institute Netherlands Erik-Jan de Ridder e.d.ridder@marin.nl Netherlands
University College Cork, National University of Ireland Jimmy Murphy Jimmy.murphy@ucc.ie Ireland
Electricity Supply Board International Paddy Kavanagh paddy.kavanagh@esbi.ie Ireland
Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy Systems Andreas Reuter andreas.reuter@iwes.fraunhofer.de Germany
CALICYA Etienne Almoric etiennealmoric@febus-optics.com France

Share this

Tweet Share